Car accidents are common occurrences and rideshare drivers are no exception. As a result, it is important to consider Uber/Lyft accidents and what to do in the event that an injury occurs. Read on to learn more about Uber/Lyft accidents in Pennsylvania.
Common Causes of Car Accidents
Car accidents can be caused by a number of different factors. Some accidents are the result of poor road conditions, inclement weather, or faulty car parts. But, for the most part, these accidents can be traced back to driver negligence. The most common forms of negligence include:
- Distracted driving
- Drowsy driving
- Driving under the influence
- Failing to follow the rules of the road
If you are injured due to a rideshare driver’s negligence, you may be entitled to recover compensation.
Uber/Lyft Liability Coverage
Uber/Lyft has a liability coverage system in place outlining the financial assistance they owe to those who have been injured in Uber/Lyft accidents. The ridesharing services’ liability coverage is as follows:
- Period 0: Period 0 is when the Uber/Lyft driver has not yet logged into the rideshare app and was involved in an accident. When this happens, Uber/Lyft will not provide coverage.
- Period 1: This is when the Uber/Lyft driver is logged in to the app but has not yet accepted a ride at the time of the accident. At this time, the company will provide liability coverage of up to $50,000 per person injured in the accident, $100,000 total injury liability per accident, and $25,000 property damage liability.
- Period 2: This is when the driver gets in an accident after accepting a trip and is en route to the passenger’s location. In this situation, Uber/Lyft’s liability coverage increases to $1 million.
- Period 3: If the passenger is in the rideshare car at the time of the accident occurring, Uber/Lyft’s liability coverage is up to $1 million, as well as additional limited coverage for any damage to the driver’s car and the uninsured motorists’ coverage.
How Long Do I Have to File a Claim?
If you wish to pursue legal action for your accident, you will have to do so within a certain amount of time. This deadline is known as a statute of limitations. In Pennsylvania, the statute of limitations for a personal injury accident is generally two years. This means that if you fail to file within two years from the date of the accident, you will likely lose your opportunity to recover compensation. Reach out to an experienced personal injury attorney to avoid missing any deadlines.
If you have been injured in an Uber/Lyft accident, contact our firm today to discuss your case.
CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED PENNSYLVANIA FIRM
Friedman Schuman is an experienced and dedicated legal resource for clients throughout Pennsylvania. We proudly serve clients facing a wide range of legal matters. If you require the services of an effective attorney, please contact Friedman Schuman today to schedule a consultation.