Can I Sue Airbnb For an Accident?

In recent times, our society has undergone a great shift in terms or ridesharing and room-sharing services. Just as Uber and Lyft are replacing taxis, many people across the U.S. are preferring Airbnb to standard hotels and motels. This is no coincidence–Airbnb’s are generally clean, comfortable, and more affordable.

That being said, just as with anything, they are not without risk. If you are someone who has been injured at an Airbnb, you must read on and reach out to our experienced Pennsylvania personal injury attorneys to learn more about how we can help you through the legal process going forward. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What is Airbnb’s Host Protection Insurance?

Host Protection Insurance is for all those who have been wrongly injured while staying at an Airbnb. This coverage is for landlords/property owners and provides them with up to $1 million for injuries sustained on their premises. Therefore, when you file a claim for an injury sustained in an Airbnb accident, you are not suing the property owner/host directly. That being said, there are several injuries not covered under Airbnb’s Host Protection Insurance. Generally, the following are not covered:

  • Injuries sustained as a result of intoxication
  • Injuries caused by an intentional act, such as a fight
  • Lost earnings due to the inability to return to work
  • Diseases contracted on the premises

What happens if Airbnb’s coverage policy does not cover all my medical bills?

There are certain cases where even if you do receive the full $1 million from Airbnb’s Host Protection Plan, it still does not entirely cover the cost of your injuries or rehabilitation. When this happens, you may seek additional compensation via hiring an experienced Pennsylvania personal injury attorney who knows how to both gather and present evidence on your behalf to prove that you require additional damages.

Though we can help you, you should also understand that you have a limited amount of time. In Pennsylvania, you must file a personal injury claim within two years of the date of your accident–this timeframe is known as the statute of limitations. Do not make the mistake of waiting–the sooner you file your claim, the better, and if you wait past the two-year mark, you will most likely be barred from suing. Our firm is ready to begin the claims process immediately–all you have to do is ask.

Contact our experienced Pennsylvania firm

Friedman Schuman is an experienced and dedicated legal resource for clients throughout Pennsylvania. We proudly serve clients facing a wide range of legal matters. If you require the services of an effective attorney, please contact Friedman Schuman today to schedule a consultation.