For some time now it has been legally mandated that all people operating motor vehicles in Pennsylvania carry valid automobile insurance. While this is not a new law, there still remain some people who drive without current auto insurance. This reality exposes many innocent people to a great level of risk unfair to them. Just what is mandated for auto insurance in Pennsylvania?
As explained by the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation, the only type of insurance that drivers must carry is liability insurance. This provides coverage for any damage or harm caused to another party in the event of an accident. The lowest amount of insurance allowed is referred to as 15/30/5. This means that a policy must provide at least $15,000 in coverage for injury or death to one person in one accident, $30,000 in coverage for injury or death to multiple people in one accident and up to $5,000 in coverage for damage to any property in one accident.
One situation that may find people driving without valid insurance is a canceled policy. The Pennsylvania Insurance Department indicates that any missed or late payment of an insurance premium may result in the cancellation of a policy as state law does not require insurers to provide a grace period for such payments.
Additionally, any driver convicted of a drunk driving offense may have his or her insurance canceled. This is because after a drunk driving conviction a person’s license will be suspended and that suspension gives insurers the right to cancel a driver’s insurance policy.
Written on behalf of Friedman Schuman. Contact our firm for a consultation to discuss your legal matter.