If you have been injured in a car accident while in a Uber/Lyft, continue reading to learn about Uber/Lyft’s liability coverage system and the time period you will have to take legal action for your damages. For assistance with your upcoming claim, do not hesitate to reach out to our experienced Pennsylvania personal injury attorney.
What are the most common causes of car accidents?
There are various factors that may play a role in a car accident. Some accidents are caused by poor road and weather conditions or even faulty car parts. However, the majority of car accidents are caused by driver negligence. The most common forms of negligence behind the wheel include the following:
- Distracted driving
- Drowsy driving
- Driving under the influence
- Failing to follow the rules of the road
If you have been injured in a car accident due to a rideshare driver’s negligence, you may be entitled to recover compensation.
What is the Uber/Lyft liability coverage system?
Uber/Lyft has a liability coverage system that outlines the financial assistance they owe to those who have been injured in Uber/Lyft accidents. The liability coverage system includes the following:
- Period 0: When an Uber/Lyft driver has not logged into the rideshare app and was involved in an accident, this is considered Period 1 and Uber/Lyft will not provide coverage.
- Period 1: When the Uber/Lyft driver is logged into the app but has not accepted a ride and is involved in an accident, this is considered Period 1 and the company will provide liability coverage of up to $50,000 per person injured in the accident, $100,000 total injury liability per accident, and $25,000 property damage liability.
- Period 2: When the driver is involved in an accident after accepting a trip and is en route to the passenger’s location, this is considered Period 1, and Uber/Lyft’s liability cover increases to $1 million.
- Period 3: When the passenger is in the rideshare car at the time of the accident occurring, this is considered Period 3, and Uber/Lyft’s liability coverage is up to $1 million as well as additional limited coverage for damage to the driver’s car and the uninsured motorists’ coverage.
What is the statute of limitations for personal injury claims after an Uber/Lyft accident in Pennsylvania?
The statute of limitations for personal injury claims in Pennsylvania is generally two years. This means that you will have two years from the date of your accident to take legal action to recover compensation. The sooner you can file your claim, the better. Failure to file your claim within this timeframe may result in you being permanently time-barred from suing. To get started as soon as possible, reach out to an experienced personal injury attorney today.
CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED PENNSYLVANIA FIRM
Friedman Schuman is an experienced and dedicated legal resource for clients throughout Pennsylvania. We proudly serve clients facing a wide range of legal matters. If you require the services of an effective attorney, please contact Friedman Schuman today to schedule a consultation.